Curious Visitor

Cape Robin 1

Cape Robin 1

You may remember my trouble a while back, trying to capture a photo of a little Cape Robin, to compare with my pushy Olive Thrush.

It seems that all I had to do was wander round the front garden, where a pair of Cape Robins has taken up residence, and they would come to me!

Cape Robin 2

Cape Robin 2

I stood absolutely still by the flower bed and the Cape Robin landed and hopped right up to me.

Cape Robin 3

Cape Robin 3

As I turned to go, he followed me, laying claim to his lawn.

Cape Robin 4

Cape Robin 4

Finally sitting on top of one of the solar lamps, to be absolutely sure I was leaving.

Cape Robin 5

Cape Robin 5

They don’t like me trespassing on their territory!

 

43 thoughts on “Curious Visitor

  1. Pingback: Sentry Duty | Mad Cap Dog

    1. scifihammy Post author

      He sure was. πŸ™‚
      Actually I don’t feed the birds in my garden, because my dog Little Monkey is such a hunter; I would hate to encourage the little animals only to have LM kill them!
      But I do have a bird bath out for them (so little water here in summer!) – and they use LM’s water bowls! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Ah I’m sure you have some of your very own cute birds? πŸ™‚
      Tho being biased, I must say, many of the birds here in Cape Town are cute! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Agh – I can’t find my bird book! But I’m pretty sure our Cape Robin is very specific to here – unless he’s Very lost!
      I like the little guy, as he’s more curious than pushy – not like that darn Olive Thrush! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you very much. πŸ™‚
      Yes, I think you’re right. πŸ™‚ They always come to check out what we’ve been doing in the garden, hoping for some upturned grubs! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

