O Holy Night

The incomparable Andy Williams

 

This is one of my favourite carols, if sung properly. Most singers nowadays tend to belt out this lovely carol full volume. I’d like to point out it is called ‘Holy Night’, not ‘Foghorn’!

Here is Andy Williams, one of my favourite singers, performing the carol beautifully, with his amazing voice control.

And I know Susan Boyle is a bit of an odd character, but she also sings this song beautifully.Β O Holy Night Susan Boyle

 

post script: Yes, it looks like the Christmas posts have begun. I don’t know about chestnuts roasting, but we certainly are! It is super hot today with barely a waft of wind; the sky is a perfect, clear, deep blue; the kids have started their long summer holiday; and the Cape is filling up with tourists. All of which points to the start of the festive season, aptly named the Silly Season here in SA.

 

38 thoughts on “O Holy Night

  1. HN

    I love Christmas songs.This one is indeed one of the best. I have never heard of the one you mentioned in comment. Going to look it up πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes I like carols too πŸ™‚ I don’t think the carol I mentioned is very well known outside of UK, but I hope you do find it online somewhere πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. Crystal Cotton

    Great post Scifihammy! That Andy Williams sure had a very soothing voice! Never heard of him before, but his tone reminds me of one of my favorite singers Elvis Presley! His voice was so calming, it always makes me 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. C. C. Cedras

    I love Christmas music and have been listening to my favorites since Thanksgiving. Andy Williams had a beautiful voice for so many things, but Christmas songs were certainly some of his best.

    And, yes, the Christmas posts HAVE begun! πŸ˜‰πŸŽ„

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Yes I see Christmas All over WP these days!
      I like that you’ve been listening to Christmas songs since Thanksgiving; I like to listen to them in July – which is Our winter!! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. quiall

    I love that sang too. This bitterly cold, overcast morning! With bated breath I await the warmth promised by a summers morn, as I cuddle deep to hide alone this winter chill. Hummm, new poem perhaps . . .

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. Garfield Hug

    I do like the oldies type of carols eg sung by Nat King Cole or Bing Crosby and Andy Williams. Great reminder and Susan Boyle is unique indeed. SA sounds really hot!! You should be somewhere cooler ha ha where there is snow πŸ˜‰and frosty the snowman on your lawn perhaps?!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Yes, I also like the old singers – who could actually sing! πŸ™‚
      The coldest I’ve been lately was when de-frosting my freezer and my fingers were sooo cold. It was lovely! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I’m ok with any carol that doesn’t have my name in it πŸ˜‰ Without blowing my cover… I am a Christmas baby and my name is close to ‘Holy Christmas’. Deck the halls is my least fav.
    Silent Night and Drummer Boy are my favs.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Oh Hi there H***y! πŸ˜€ – And Happy Birthday for very soon, in case I forget later. Having a BDay around Christmas sucks tho, as my brother found out.
      My absolute favourite carol is a little known one “In the bleak mid-winter” and has the iconic line “Earth stood hard as iron; Water like a stone”. Ah, the old days! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

