Mystery Visitor

Cape Canary 1

Cape Canary 1

I spotted this bird on my garden face recently. I grabbed my camera and managed one shot before it flew off. As usual, I was inside the house in the lounge and shooting through the window.

The camera had hardly switched on before I was forcing it to function and the bird flew away, so the photo before tweaking* was really blurred; see below.

Cape Canary 2

Cape Canary 2

I could tell by looking at it that it wasn’t one of my usual visitors and I thought perhaps it was a Cape Weaver, which I have seen very occasionally in the past, but something about it just wasn’t quite right. This bird is smaller and has those grey markings.

After searching through my Newman’s SA Bird book and google, I think I have finally identified it.

A Cape Canary!

You can watch a short clip of the Cape Canary, Serinus canicollisΒ singing,Β here.

I love to see all these new birds in my garden, but wish they’d stay around a bit more so I could get a decent photo!

 

post script: I don’t put a bird feeder out in my garden, because I don’t want to actively encourage birds to visit here when I have Little Monkey, who will always chase them away and catch them if she can. However, I do have a bird bath, because water is scarce, but they can access this from the trees, so are relatively safe. I’ve never seen LM try to catch birds in the bird bath; maybe etiquette at the water hole?

*post post script: If you’re interested, I improved the image by sharpening the contrast and adjusting the saturation and colour levels, on PowerPaint 2.50. I was pretty chuffed with the results, as my original photo was very blurred and according to google, sharpening an image is really difficult. The funniest account I read on how best to sharpen a blurred photo simply said to take another photo of your subject, but in focus this time!Β 

 

29 thoughts on “Mystery Visitor

  1. Pingback: Nuts in May | Mad Cap Dog

  2. mistermuse

    I thought my vocabulary was above average, but you used a word in your post post script I’d not heard of: “chuffed” — so I looked it up. My dictionary defines it as “a short, explosive sound”…..which doesn’t seem to make sense in the context in which you used it. In short, I’m explosive with curiosity to know what you meant! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      hahaha Thank you so much for this comment! I love words too.
      I grew up in the UK and we used to say we were chuffed with something if we were pleased.
      Being “dead chuffed” meant we were very pleased.
      Satisfyingly, google gives the ‘correct’ definition! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

      Reply
  3. Laura

    It is so exciting to see a new bird. And having water would be a big benefit for a bird. I bet some are stopping to visit when your back is turned πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  4. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Ha ha! Of course. Just take another photo… IN FOCUS this time πŸ˜‚πŸ˜…πŸ˜‚ Duh! You did a great job fixing the photo up!
    I love seeing new visitors in my yard. I was excited to have 2 red breasted Nuthatch visiting me regularly. I’d never seen one till this winter.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

