Sentry Duty

Cape Bulbul 1

Cape Bulbul 1

A pair of Cape Bulbuls has taken up residence in my front garden, along with the Cape Robins.

Cape Bulbul 2

Cape Bulbul 2

They are excellent parents to their little offspring and one is always on guard.

Cape Bulbul 3

Cape Bulbul 3

Cleverly, they built their nest in the prickly bougainvillea; its large thorns providing protection from inquisitive cats and me!

Cape Bulbul 4

Cape Bulbul 4

Every time I go out there they fly to a nearby tree and chirp at me most vociferously. Here one perches in the grape vine to get a better look at me.

Cape Bulbul 5

Cape Bulbul 5

They fly to other trees as I pass by, continuing to scold and making sure to see me on my way.

How dare I trespass on their territory!

 

post script: You can see more of the Cape Bulbul here:Β 

Mystery Post Four

Under Surveillance.

 

28 thoughts on “Sentry Duty

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ They are pretty, but I think quite a bit smaller than a jackdaw – which is probably more similar to our red-wing starlings, coming up in a future post! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. samanthamurdochblog

        I shall look forward to it πŸ™‚ I do like to see other birds although not really in my garden because of the girls…I saw a field full of ostriches once…nobody believed me, till I went back and got photographic evidence!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. scifihammy Post author

        Wow! That must have been something to see a field of ostriches! Many years ago someone was breeding them in a field along the freeway here and it was the strangest thing to see them!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Laura

    I absolutely love seeing your bird photos because they are birds we do not see here. And it is interesting how they do resemble our birds. I guess they are all related in some way.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      They would certainly chase me off if I tried anything near their nestling, but were content to leave me alone if I left them alone. πŸ™‚
      They are really pretty and have a lovely song too. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

