Sunday Musings #83

There are no extra pieces in the Universe. Everyone is here because he or she has a place to fill and every piece must fit itself into the big jigsaw puzzle.

– Deepak Chopra

 

I love puzzles; or rather I should say, I like solving them. I don’t like it so much when I can’t!

I couldn’t understand why the Likes had suddenly disappeared from the bottom of my posts when I visited my blog and scrolled down. In Settings, I double checked that I had ticked the box: WordPress.com Likes On for all posts, deleted the cache and cookies, reloaded everything, tried on different devices using different browsers: all to no avail. The Likes remained conspicuous by their absence!

Last night I went back to my Settings and checked everything again. Then I noticed that one box Show buttons on Front Page, Archive Pages and Search Results was not ticked. Now, I have a kind of photographic memory for shapes and things and I clearly remember the pattern of this set of four boxes, when I first went to my Settings after my Likes had disappeared. The box was not ticked then either.

Simply ticking this box, saving and reloading my blog solved the problem! Yeah, it was that simple and, when it comes to computers, apparently so am I!

So here’s the thing: since I wasn’t tinkering with my Settings until after my Likes had disappeared from my blog, what caused the problem in the first place? And how come no-one else seemed to see this problem, except myself, the blogger kind enough to tell me about it and one other who checked upon reading my post yesterday?

I guess some puzzles will never be solved!

 

I’d like to say A Very Big Thank You to everyone who helped me yesterday, by telling me if they could see my Likes when they looked at my blog. You guys out there are my WP support!

 

post script: It’s not that I want lots of Likes (just as well!) but rather that I have my blog set out this way, so it is easy to scroll down and see every post and Like if you wish, without having to visit each post separately. Those of you living with rubbish internet, like me, will appreciate this; as do I, when visiting other blogs.

 

29 thoughts on “Sunday Musings #83

    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Thank you. 🙂 Ah, it’s not about the Likes, but about having things set up the way you like. I hope my previous reply helps you with your set up. 🙂

      Like

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you. 🙂
      I also usually Like in the Reader, but when visiting a new blog, I go back thro many older posts and read and Like on the site. It is easier when the Like button is right there at the end of the post. 🙂
      Well, we are all different and “like” different things, which is just as well. 😀

      Like

      Reply
  1. quiall

    I think of the internet as spreading little bread crumbs throughout our writings and little PacMac like creatures roaming the ether, when we are not looking, gobbling up stuff. :() Your ‘like’ box may have been an appetizer!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. Midwestern Plant Girl

    So glad it worked out! 😋
    I feel sometimes things update and things get changed. It’s that simple. Aside from my ‘rate this’ issue, I recently noticed my link to FB, which I turned off (but didn’t delete) at least 7 months ago, had suddenly hooked up again and was posting on FB. I was 😠! My dash said it wasn’t posting, however it clearly WAS posting when I opened FB. I fully deleted it now, so it better not post there. Dang it!
    Have a great Sunday 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you! 🙂
      Wow! That is so annoying – and scary! Just as well you checked again. Who knows what is being shared without our knowledge . . . probably everything! Well I say good luck to whoever is reading my stuff, I hope it cures your insomnia! 😀
      Happy Sunday to you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Midwestern Plant Girl

        Ha ha ha! An insomnia cure 😐 How can anyone sleep after seeing LM’s cutie face or a fun quip?
        When extremely bored, I do Google my own stuff. Occasionally, I do find someone copying full posts. Usually, it’s a ‘machine’ copy, meaning a mass copying of many blogs, not just mine. They do tend to drop it if you complain.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

