Underneath the Arches

Hydrangea 1

Galaxy 8

These are some of the biggest hydrangea blooms I’ve ever seen.

Hydrangea 2

It is hard to do them justice in a photo, but if you look in the shot below, you can get some indication of their size by checking out the archway to the right.

Hydrangea 3

My friend and I walked underneath the archway (without doing the limbo!) and though I might be a tad under average height, my friend is a respectable 5′ 9″.

 

This is the eighth in my series of Galaxy camera phone photos.

 

post script: For a trip down memory lane; or for you youngsters, a golden oldie; here’s “Underneath the Arches”Β sung by Flanagan and Allen.

 

24 thoughts on “Underneath the Arches

  1. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Wow! Those are huge! πŸ˜†
    Our hydrangea macrophylla don’t get that large… most likely because we have half the growing season you do.
    You have a Galaxy 8? We’re still on 7 here. I just had to buy a new one, as I dropped my 6 and got the BLACK SCREEN OF DEATH ☠ I’m happy tho, as the 7 is water resistant… a good thing for a klutz kayaker!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      No no -I have a Samsung Galaxy J3 – the 8 refers to this being the 8th photo in my series from my phone. When I did my Nikon series I titled them Nikon-ography #1, #2 etc, which I thought was a bit boring, so my Galaxy series has a relevant title and underneath I put Galaxy 1, 2 …8 etc. Since this is my first smart phone, I am more than happy with its capabilities. πŸ™‚
      And many places have hydrangea this massive. I think they are quite old and in just the right place. My hydrangea has been dry and shrivelled up for months already!

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        And here’s another one! Oops!
        Seems no matter that I look in my Notifications for unread comments. some just don’t show up! (I am now in the Comments on my trusty old Dashboard!)
        Thank you and have fun with your new phone camera. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      My own is quite tiny, though it is decades old. I think you need just the right position and plenty of summer to get them this size. πŸ™‚
      But you never know! Good Luck with yours. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

