Staying Alive!

Fern 1

I’ve had this fir bush of mine for many years, but he has never grown much; just plodded along by the wall between two other fir bushes. They were younger, but decided to grow vigorously. Eventually, together, they squeezed the life out of this poor fir. He was being strangled by lack of sunlight and root space, so I took the risky decision to move him.

Fern 5

They don’t like being moved and often complain by simply up and dying!

Yet, here he is still, hanging on by a thread; even though he looks more brown than Evergreen!

Fern 2

With our severe water restrictions I have had to be extremely watchful of my plant, ensuring that he never dries out. (I say ‘he’, because for some reason I have always associated this fern with my old dog Jack, who was also very much a survivor.)

To help keep the roots damp, after their allowed watering twice a week, my husband came up with the clever idea of filling an empty plastic milk with water and inverting it there in the plant’s roots. (We do this for the needy plants like Mr Spaghetti Legs’ new Erica.)

Fern 3

This works very well.

Till one day, when I was hanging out the washing and Little Monkey came cavorting up to the washing line, throwing an empty plastic milk bottle around with gay abandon! She tossed it up in the air and pounced on it when it landed. Then she ran round the garden at full speed like a maniac,Β snatching up the bottle as she dashed passed it and tossing it in the air as she went.

I watched her with the pride only a mother has; my own silly Little Monkey. Then I thought, “Wait a minute. Where’s she got the milk bottle from?”

And, yes, we do give her an empty plastic bottle with a few pieces of kibble inside from time to time, so she can enjoy getting the food out, but we hadn’t given her one in a while.

I walked over to my precious fir and sure enough; the life-support-water-system was gone!

Fern 4

We put a new one up; a see-through apple juice bottle this time. It lasted less than a week before it was also being tossed around the garden with relish.

Luckily, I have plenty of plastic milk bottles, so every time we’re allowed to water our plants, we simply place a new bottle by my fir.

Fern 6

And judging by the wondrous new green growth on my dying plant, I am very hopeful that come the winter rains, he will spring back into full form once again.

 

post script: I’m sure you’re singing it in your head anyway, so here you are: ha ha ha ha Stayin’ Alive!

 

31 thoughts on “Staying Alive!

  1. samanthamurdochblog

    Gardening with dogs can be trying, I find. I was planting some pansies for my mother, unaware that her puppy was following me and neatly nipping off the heads of the flowers and eating them…
    Your fir tree is a brave soldier…sing to it. I’ve read that singing can help growth, you could sing all the Bee Gees greatest hits…like I have!! LOL!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Oh dear – but so funny about the puppy! I have read not to let your dog see you digging in the garden because then they want to dig with you!
      As to singing to my fir tree, I’d have to do so when no-one was around, or they’d think I was nuts! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  2. blosslyn

    Oh dear thats something that Toffee would do, he is always bringing something in, that should not be in. The other dogs are fine, do not touch anything, but Toffee thinks everything is a toy πŸ™‚ Good that the little fir is ‘staying alive’ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Once a plant is established in my garden it usually does OK, because I plant indigenous, but they don’t like being moved.
      Send us some of your rain – We have 30C tomorrow and still no rain.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

