Sunday Musings #90

Everything is funny as long as it’s happening to someone else.

– Will Rogers

 

I remember when I was about twelve years old, walking to the bus station with my best friend after school one day. It was winter, soΒ it was dark and it was snowing.

We chatted away together, which made the freezing cold walk pass more quickly. Suddenly, my friend was no longer there!

I looked around, then down. She was flat on her back on the pavement, having slipped on some ice.

I burst out laughing! This was the funniest thing; the surprise of it; but mostly, that it hadn’t happened to me!

Of course, I helped her up and checked that she wasn’t seriously hurt: no bones broken (but you don’t break so easily when you’re young.) I was still laughing as I dusted the snow off her gabardine raincoat. She was cross, understandably, with falling in the first place, and with her best friend still laughing at her.

But I couldn’t help myself.Β I believe this is referred to as relief laughter. Or as Will Rogers says above, “Everything is funny as long as it’s happening to someone else!”

 

16 thoughts on “Sunday Musings #90

  1. Tom's Nature-up-close Photography and Mindfulness Blog

    πŸ™‚
    I was at Walmart a couple of weeks ago, had to use the washroom, and put toilet paper across the toilet seat so i wouldn’t have to sit directly on it. One of the strips, instead of falling in the water, at the end, stuck to my behind. As i left the store, after shopping a lot, a women informed me that i had a strip of toilet paper hanging out over my behind! Then, a few days later, i went nature photographing, and (on the way home) put water i was drinking between my legs as i was driving. The car hit a bump and water gushed out around my pants at the zipper area. My wife wanted me to get something from Walmart on the way home… so i had to walk around the store looking like i urinated on myself!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

