Sunday Musings #91

Forgetfulness is the brain’s way of safeguarding against obesity due to a sedentary lifestyle as you age.

– Scifi

 

How many times do you have to go back into a room to fetch the item you first went for, because you came away with something else?

It’s about 20 metres from my lounge to the bedroom; 40 metres round trip. I walk this repeatedly to fetch variously; my book; coffee mug; cell phone; laptop; crossword puzzles etc; each time returning with a different item than the one I originally wanted. When you factor in failed trips to the kitchen, other rooms and garden, I certainly get my exercise!

Anyone else out there clocking up the miles this way?

Please tell me I’m not alone!

 

25 thoughts on “Sunday Musings #91

  1. sportsattitudes

    I’d be curious to wear a Fitbit and track just how much energy I waste daily leaving a room without what I went into the room for in the first place. I don’t think my concentration or forgetfulness is getting worse…more likely I’m taking greater note because I’m more weary over making two roundtrips when one would do. Wait…what was I saying? πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. colinandray

    With that mileage? You’re alone! Not only would I appear to be worse than you, but I have stairs to go up and down as I ask myself? “Where was I when I put (it) down?” or “I am in the basement… but what did I come here for?” πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Oh the stairs! I’d forgotten how tiring they were till I visited home again. My elderly Mum was running up and down them – whereas I took to popping things half way up the stairs, to take up in one go!
      You must be keeping fit with all those stairs! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  3. Julz

    Haha no you are not alone!! Half the time I forgot what i went to take, only to remember once am out of the room again. But i have always been like thatz my dad used to say to me: when you don’t use hour brain it’s good you have legs… 😁

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      hehe That’s for sure! πŸ˜€
      Like you, I’ve been doing this for many years, so it’s not an age thing, more a “I have far too much to do and remember” thing! πŸ™‚
      But it’s all exercise at the end of the day! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Weight lifting is very good to stave off osteoporosis! πŸ˜€
      I’m not really getting old – yet! It’s just that it’s quite a long walk, and during that time I have so many other thoughts going on in my head and things to remember, that the unimportant things get dropped! Rather like clearing the cookies from your laptop!
      Hmmmm Speaking of cookies – time for afternoon tea! πŸ˜€
      Happy Sunday GH πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

