Nuts in May

Sparky 1

I captured little Sparky the squirrel Gathering Nuts in May on my lawn.

OK, so he’s really gathering berries from my massive syringa tree, but I love how he holds them like a little bouquet of flowers to offer to his sweetheart!

Below is the unaltered photo, which as you see, is quite blurred. Sparky was far away and not going to hang around for a photo shoot. I snapped what I could with my trusty Canon.

Sparky 2

And as I’ve discussed before, in Mystery Visitor, there is only so much post-editing you can do to improve a blurred image; the best advice being to simply take another photo; in focus! Still, I’m rather chuffed with my results of smartening Mr Sparky up a bit.

 

post script: “Here we go gathering Nuts in May”Β is a lovely old nursery rhyme that I remember singing as a kid, and to my own kids. It’s interesting that originally it was probably ‘Knots in May’ referring to the blossom of the hawthorn.

You can listen to a version of Nuts in May sung here.

 

30 thoughts on “Nuts in May

  1. blosslyn

    That is just so cute, just looks like he/she is holding a posy of flowers, amazing, well done, blurry or not, its just so cute πŸ™‚ (sorry I just like it a lot )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. HN

    I like how the photo looks like a watercolor painting. Thanks for the song…I’m listening to other nursery songs (youtube autoplay!) they bring back good memory of many car rides when my kids were little.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ The ‘painting’ effect is a result of trying to sharpen up the image. The next attempt up looked very picture-like.
      It’s surprising how many of these old songs we do remember. I could sing them all to my kids, having not thought about them for decades!
      And yes, I also listened to more on auto play! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Well spotted! This is what I thought too, but I’d written my whole post with Sparky being a boy with a bouquet. . . I thought, “No-one will notice!” πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  3. Midwestern Plant Girl

    I’m no photographer… let alone a post manipulator of them. I can crop and apply a filter, that’s about it. At this point, a blurry photo for me will stay a blurry photo. As I’m not getting paid to post, I will post blurry pix, as long as they still convey the idea I’m writing about. 😊
    Sparkly does look cute with his bouquet. (I left the typo, as I thought it was cute! )

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

