Please WP!!!

Headless Horseman??

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

 

Anyone else having trouble with the WP Reader lately?

Above is how my Awesome (ahem) photo of LM appeared in the WP Reader yesterday.

Headless!

Daft!

Pointless!

It was supposed to look like this –

Her Master’s Voice 1

I’m sorry, but either show the whole photo in miniature or not at all. Deciding to crop it willy-nilly inevitably results in failures like this!

Most of us take a great deal of care with our photos, adjusting the image for optimum effect. How annoying it is then to see these photos mutilated in the WP Reader. If you were browsing through the Reader and saw my headless dog, would this photo entice you to click on the post and read further? I don’t think so!

And, every time I opened a post in the WP Reader to read and comment, then returned to the Reader, it sent me right back to the beginning of my Reader. Do you know how long it takes to scroll all the way down to where you were each time? I already battle with rubbish internet speeds; I don’t need any more hassles. (OK this appears to be fixed today!)

Further, my Notifications kept getting stuck, showing an orange dot, meaning new Notifications, when I had cleared them all.

Also, the Powers That Be have once again changed the font in the WP Reader Notifications. It is tiny again. To achieve a reasonable reading size I have to increase my magnification to 150%. This effectivelyΒ removes everything from my screen except the Notifications.

So why am I complaining to you guys and not WP?

Well, the last time WP messed around with the Reader and changed the font to smaller, they also made the print paler; as in grey not black. I commented to WP on their own post about the new improved WP Reader (their words!). The reply I got simply said, ‘Yes they had changed the font’. They did not address the issue of smaller, fainter print at all. (Eventually they did change the font back, as enough of us complained!)

 

Please Please Please WP.

If it ain’t broke, don’t fix it!

 

So, will my rant here achieve anything?

Nope! But I sure feel better for venting! Thanks guys!

Gripe over.

Happy Saturday!

 

post script: I fully understand that the majority of you will have no problem with any of these changes, but please pity the less advantaged, such as we South African’s, who have rubbish internet; those of us who already battle to read tiny print and those of us who Blog on our laptops, not smart phones. AnyΒ change affects us!

post post script: I am curious to see how my first photo above will now appear in the WP Reader! Poor LM is already headless. What else can they do to her?

Baaahahahaha! I had to add this update quickly. The only part of LM now showing in the WP Reader is her bum and the tip of her tail!Β 

 

36 thoughts on “Please WP!!!

  1. ramblingratz

    Yes, that was how she appeared in my reader. But I always click onto the “proper” post to see LM’s beautiful head. I agree, these tech companies are always tinkering and often make things worse.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      (Squints at tiny writing!)
      Oh Thank you for looking at LM in all her glory – ie with her head! πŸ˜€
      Yes, I know I’m in the minority, not blogging on a phone etc Anyway, I felt better for my rant! πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply
  2. pensitivity101

    I’ve got similar problems (the dot is still showing and should be cleared) and I hate the grouping of posts by the same blogger as I can’t read them one after the other and have to come out of one to go into the next! Grrrrr!!!!!!

    Like

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I agree about the grouping! I find it very annoying that you can’t read one post and then the next one down, without returning to the Reader. At the moment, I am Still being sent right back to the beginning of my Reader, every time I comment. Sigh!
      And my orange dot is still showing too!
      btw this comment of yours was sent to my Spam. I have rescued you! πŸ˜€

      Like

      Reply
      1. scifihammy Post author

        It’s still ‘broke’ my side too. And someone I follow was also having problems – seems her posts did not appear in the WP Reader at all – so no wonder her stats were down!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. A Curious Introvert

    Thanks for ranting for me. I always use the WP Reader and lately I never know how it will work on each device. It gets very irritating when the reader takes me back to the beginning or when it only gives me a couple hours of postings, which seems to be happening quite often. I prefer how the photos appeared before all these changes. Little Monkey deserves better!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Oh Thank You! Good to know I am not alone –
      or just a grumpy old blogger! πŸ˜€
      I checked on my smartphone, and LM was just her chest in the first photo! Makes no sense.
      I think we all deserve better. You have some lovely photos to share. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Midwestern Plant Girl

    WP is on my poop list right now also. They changed the upload size of photos… now thru get uploaded in GINORMOUS size and uses all your storage space. Grrr 😠
    You have to be a squeaky wheel with them. Bitch, Bitch and Bitch again. ( My autocorrect kept changing it to birch ha ha)
    Realize you’re 1st letter will get a canned answer, maybe even the second. However, that third Bitch will usually get results. They did add back the photo sizeing, however not to my liking. I’ll be back to bitch to them. So sad that they need to keep changing instead of improving!
    I’ve added a screen shot from the reader on my android…. I don’t even get a photo!
    Are you doing a ‘featured image’?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you for the screen shot. That is so odd! I checked on my smartphone and my post today in the Reader shows all the photo, but yesterday’s was cropped even more, so you just got LM’s mid-section!
      On my laptop today, you just see LM’s bum! πŸ˜€
      It’s clearly different depending on your device, but I am surprised that you now get No photo from me! πŸ˜€
      I don’t usually set a featured image, which has been fine in the past.
      Good luck with your WP problem and ‘birching’ away there! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

