I Thought I’d Killed You!

New Rose 1

Thank goodness you’re still alive!

I found my rose bushes covered in black all over their leaves.

As I deemed this too severe to treat by spraying, I hacked away all the diseased branches.

Floribunda

I have three rose bushes in a little section all together: a pink floribunda, that is very well established, with many thick branches, producing multiple blooms throughout the year; and two smaller red rose bushes, precariously established, with one or two spindly branches, producing only one or two roses per season.

Red Red Rose

It was only afterwards, as I raked up the cuttings, that I realised, that in heavily pruning the floribunda rose bush, I had cut back the one and only branch of my deep red rose bush, that was growing in amongst the floribunda.

Shock Horror!

This poor rose bush is barely established and I molly coddle it all the time. It may produce only one bloom a season, but that is a beautiful, deep red rose with such a heavenly scent.

I silently said “Sorry” and “Goodbye” to this straggly rose bush.

So imagine my delight when I noticed the other day that it had survived.

Floribunda 2

New Rose 2

Above you can see one hearty thick branch from the floribunda rose bush, on the left, and on the right, the entire deep red rose bush.

New Rose 4

It is one little twig; with the brand new twiglet growing off from it. Down at the bottom in these two photos you can also see the top of the life-support-irrigation-system. (Plastic milk bottle!)

New rose 3

The other small red rose bush was also still alive and beginning to sprout new growth.

I hadn’t killed them after all!

 

“So what?” you may ask.

So, it is autumn here: June 21st is our winter solstice.

I would not normally prune my rose bushes till spring; 15th August to be precise. (I have this date from an elderly resident who grew the most wonderful roses. Everyone around our neighbourhood waited till she pruned her rose bushes, then we pruned ours!)

No-one prunes their rose bushes at the beginning of winter! It would be like those of you in the North hacking away at your plants in November! (You might even have to clear snow off them to do so!!)

I really thought my little rose bush was done for!

But here it is, sprouting away with healthy new growth.

New Rose 5

Hooray for my plants: Β that survive despite me!

 

37 thoughts on “I Thought I’d Killed You!

    1. scifihammy Post author

      hehehe Yes! πŸ˜€
      Well, I also prune heavily, but in August! I’m just relieved the roses are thriving at the moment – and hope they survive winter! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Oh really? I had no idea (not having grown stuff when I lived in UK).
      When I inadvertently pruned before winter here, in the past (complete lack of knowledge!) my roses weren’t happy and the branches went black!
      I guess, as we’re still getting the odd day of 30C, I may have just been lucky this time! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

