Back Lit

Back Lit 1 GALAXY

Early one morning, just as the sun was rising . . .

I grabbed all my cameras and photographed my daughter’s lavender bush as it basked in those first warming rays.

Back Lit 2 CANON

I clicked away using variously; my Galaxy camera phone, my decent Nikon camera and my little point and click Canon.

Below, my Galaxy camera phone really captures the effect of the sun’s rays slanting towards the lavender bush.

Back Lit 3 GALAXY

As expected, my Nikon camera (with no zoom lens) achieves the best close up of the lavender, with a lovely bokeh.

Back Lit 4 NIKON

I really liked how my little point and click Canon camera catches the sunlight, so that the lavender bush appears lit from within.

Back Lit 5 CANON

I found it interesting that each device offers a different aspect of the sunlit challenge. Though the results differ I think each has its own merit. They all found something unique to highlight in apparently the same shot.

Bearing in mind I have no filters; (and, indeed, little skill!) I was quite pleased with the varied results.

And that so far I have managed not to kill this lovey bush!

 

37 thoughts on “Back Lit

  1. Julz

    i love lavender – when we first moved to Provence my mum had them everywhere in the garden πŸ˜€ – i love playing with my camera to see the different colours and effects it does πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
      1. Julz

        The smells were amazing… and then we would pick them, dry them, take off all the small flowers and put them in small bags to put in the laundry cupboards πŸ™‚ I love lavender! and lavender fields are so beautiful

        Liked by 1 person

  2. blosslyn

    One of my favourites, I try to buy a new type each year, just love the smell and they are good for the bees. A good experiment, must say they all look pretty good πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. A Curious Introvert

    Beautiful shots on all the devices! I often use my iPhone and Nikon to capture the same scene and find myself laughing on occasion when I try many different manual settings on my Nikon to only discover that the iPhone captured the lighting better in a single shot than my creative attempts.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      It is a great bush to have in your garden πŸ™‚ Tho I had to molly coddle this one a bit to start with. It needed just the right position – not too much or too little sun. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  4. Garfield Hug

    I love Lavender and your Galaxy is doing very well! I just bought a Galaxy J7. I hope it is as good as yours. The Note series after the fire has left me stuck using Note 4 and am hoping to no avail for a non fiery version ha ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  5. OverResearch

    I’ve managed to kill 3 attempts of lavender. Probably because of the location (some stray salt and not intense enough light) but mostly because of zones. It’s often a zone 5 at best and I’m in zone 4. I’ve given up for now and started slowly collecting various alliums for the spot.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      I know what you mean. I had to move this lavender around till it was in a happy position, which turns out to have a lot of sun.
      Finding the right plants for your area makes it a lot less stress to garden. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
  6. Midwestern Plant Girl

    Very interesting!
    It is interesting how each one was different. I haven’t tried this experiment with mine.
    I do feel that the galaxy is trying to round out things, as its a camera phone and working on averages. Which # galaxy so you have? I just got the 7. It does have a ‘pro’ setting area. I’m NOT a pro, so I’ve not messed with it πŸ˜‰ When I figure out what iso means, I’ll visit it! Ha ha!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ I was surprised at the differences.
      My daughter bought me my first ever smartphone in Jan. It’s a simple J3 – nothing fancy at all – but the photos are great and have really good colour. The best part about the phone camera is that you can set selfies to Beauty mode and if you push the effect to 100% – voila! Instant anti-aging! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

Leave a Reply

