You’ll Never Eat Alone

Seagull 1

Sit down on a bench with a sandwich in Princes Street Gardens, Edinburgh, and you will soon attract some company.

Seagull 2

This handsome chap came over to share my sandwich. (Yes, of course I gave him some.) I think he is a lesser black-backed gull.

Seagull 3

I found it interesting that seagulls were so prominent all over Edinburgh; more so than when I was actually at the seaside in Suffolk.

I would wake to their loud calls early in the morning.

But I did not mind one bit. Their plaintive cries were music to my ears after the cacophony of screeching Egyptian Geese and Hadedas that I am used to here in Cape Town!

 

photos taken with my Galaxy phone.

 

31 thoughts on “You’ll Never Eat Alone

  1. blosslyn

    I love taking photos of gulls, they are always doing something funny, like trying to nick chips. Lots of places here ask you not to feed them, as they can be a bit on the naughty side and nick straight from your hand….but I still like them πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  2. A Curious Introvert

    What a charming chap to share your sandwich with!πŸ™‚ The last few times I’ve been out kayaking I have had two seagulls flying around and I always wonder when I go shopping why there is always a group hanging out in a parking lot instead of at the lake.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
    1. scifihammy Post author

      It must be hard, being home schooled. And I don’t know if you have any brothers or sisters?
      Maybe there are some groups you could join, like football, art or photography etc?
      I have met new friends at my dog class with Little Monkey. πŸ™‚
      But I cherish my Blogging friends very much. Even if we never meet, you are all a part of my life. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply
      1. Dan the Young Scientist

        The only friends I have now is you and some bloggers. I don’t have any sisters, brothers, friends. This is life of being homeschooled; if you brothers or sisters, you’re lucky. I searched around my neighbor hood, but no one is educated like me. I tried some kids chat online, and even worse! I guess I’ll keep on searching…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. scifihammy Post author

        Aw it is hard when there’s no-one around in your age group, similar to yourself.
        Yes, keep looking; there might be someone else out there also looking for a friend. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. pensitivity101

    Herring gulls on Bridport (Dorset) and the surrounding beacjes will almost take your hand off as they dive for your ice creams, chips and anything else you’re eating. We have a lot of gulls on the marina just now and hate them for picking off the newly hatched ducklings a few months back. It’s nature though, and I conefss that whenever I hear a gull, I always think of sea, sunshine, sandy beaches and hot pasties from the stalls on the front.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

