Nikon-ography #1

Mr Spaghetti Legs

Mr Spaghetti Legs

Sweet Dreams

Most of the photos on my blog were taken with my little Point and Click Canon IXUS 95IS.

It has a resolution of only 10 Megapixels, and a 3.0 optical zoom lens. I’m pretty sure most good camera phones are better than this nowadays.

My trusty Canon is old and has been dropped many times, but still delivers excellent photos without fail. It is the one I grab when I spot birds splashing in the bird bath for example.

However, my daughter bought me a Nikon D3100 a while back, which can take far superior photos – if I only learn how!

So that is my goal for this year: to learn how to use the Nikon camera properly and get more out of it.

This series of posts will be where I showcase my Nikon photos.

 

 

47 thoughts on “Nikon-ography #1

  1. faburlifekhloe

    Look at Mr. SL’s cutie face! How can he manage to look so handsome even when he is sleep? ❤ Such a beautiful photo!

    So sweet of your daughter buying you a new camera! Hope you have a fun photography journey Sci! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you 🙂 And I hope the nail clip went well. I take my dogs to the vets, because Little Monkey has black claws – and won’t keep still!

      Like

  2. dizzylizzie72

    Always takes time to learn a new camera. I thought you were taking good photos with your Canon. This truly is a nice photo of your dog. I wish I could sleep this well. Ha

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you very much 🙂 I’ll still use my little Canon, but really want to learn this new camera too.
      And as regards the sleeping, Yes, I wish I slept as well as my dogs! But on the bright side, I love the wee small hours of the morning, when all is quiet, and it is finally a little cooler! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. dizzylizzie72

        Early, early mornings alone before my husband arises are my favorite time of the day. Most days that entails one to two hours of viewing sunrises alone and thinking about life. In the summer cooler helps too.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Though I am sure the complexity of your cameras will be way beyond mine, I am also intimidated! I deliberated long and hard before publishing this post, because now I am committed! But I figured it will get me out taking photos at least once a week, and then I shall learn.
      Good Luck with your new camera. 🙂

      Like

      1. spanishwoods

        No, this camera is not complicated. It’s just new to me and I don’t do well with new things sometimes. 🙂 (I broke the lid to my 1976 slow cooker 2 days ago and was beside myself because I refuse to use the brand new monster (complicated) slow cooker that my husband bought a year ago. I found another lid that works. Thank goodness)

        Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      hahaha I am quite sure it was cheaper here in SA! But I aim to have the camera as long as I live, so I should get tons of use out of it! 🙂

      Like

Comments are closed.