Chariots of Fire

West Sands 1

This is the beach where the famous opening scene was filmed for the 1981 Chariots of Fire movie: West Sands in St Andrews, Scotland

There is still a plaque here, commemorating the film. West Sands was used to portray Broadstairs in Kent, where the runners actually ran.

West Sands 2 Plaque

It’s a lovely stretch of wild sandy beach and on the day we went, fairly deserted. It was late July and though not raining, there was a strong breeze, which I think there always is!

West Sands 3

There were many birds in this small river inlet to the sea; mostly seagulls, but also a few dark birds.

West Sands 4

It’s hard to see exactly what they are, but some of the dark birds had white on them.

As I’ve mentioned before, my little Canon camera really battles to take a clear picture in dim lighting; the photo is grainy and pixelated.

West Sands 5

And just to prove I was here; here I am – wind-swept and freezing!

.

Instead of the well-known opening clip from the Chariots of Fire movie, with the lads jogging along the beach (also looking wind-swept and freezing!) here’s the comedic genius of Rowan Atkinson showing them a thing or two at the opening ceremony of the London 2012 Olympics.

.

After being blown to bits on the beach (which I find refreshing; plenty of oxygen!) we went for sustenance at a lovely little hidden away cafe and had the best scones ever!

Scones

There was a choice of the most delicious fillings such as fresh fruit, all with great names, like the Prince of Wales etc

I just had a plain one, with butter, jam and clotted cream, but it was scrumptious and basically, that was my lunch!

 

30 thoughts on “Chariots of Fire

    1. scifihammy Post author

      I really enjoyed my brief visit to St Andrews. As you say, it is a lovely little place. 🙂
      And yes, our train from Edinburgh was going on to Aberdeen, so I was only about 100 miles from you, instead of my usual 6000!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. A Curious Introvert

    These holiday posts just keep getting better – deserted beaches, a little film history, the very funny Mr. Bean and those delightful looking scones! Wonderful photos and I hope you had some tea to warm up after your wind-swept walk on the beach.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Iris@poetsmith

    Lovely read… and photos. Interesting information about the movie ” chariots of fire” …. great movie and story! Yes, the scones looks tempting 😉 and the varieties too. Thanks for sharing 😃

    Liked by 1 person

  3. dobetteralways

    That beach looks perfect for someone who wants to enjoy some time alone with their thoughts. Also, I love it when you find unexpected food surprises at random places, it always tastes better when you weren’t going there with any expectations.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Garfield Hug

    Forgot to add that I can eat scones anytime of the day to substitute for a meal and nowadays there are savory scones too haha! Now can you please pass me some of the scones😉😃

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Garfield Hug

    Looking good Sci!! No jacket? Braving the wind and I can almost hear the theme song from Chariots of Fire. Haha! Amazing that the beach is deserted as over here if such a beach exists, it will be thronged with a sea if people! Picturesque indeed and calming😃is the beach you have shown. Thanks

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Why Thank You! 😀
      I put my jacket on after the photo! And you can’t help but hear the music when you’re on that beach.
      I think the remoteness of St Andrews helps keep many people away, plus it was fairly early still, and not a great day weather-wise.
      I am used to these wide open beaches here in CT, but it was great to find one in Scotland. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.