Study in Yellow

Cape White Eye 1

Haiku 208

Little Cape White Eye

Blending in the setting sun

Camouflage technique

.

While I was sitting outside under the Eugenia tree late one afternoon having a cup of tea, I heard a commotion going on in the yellow honeysuckle. There was a lot of twittering and the branches were shaking as birds flitted about. I grabbed my camera to take a few shots.

My little Canon camera does not do too well in low light, which explains the lack of clarity, but you can still distinguish the birds.

Sunbird 1

I could see a male Sunbird sipping nectar from the flowers and assumed the bird with him was the female. The Sunbird’s iridescent colours were not showing in this light and he appeared dark, until sunlight caught his feathers.

Sunbird 2

It was only later, on looking at the photos, that I realised the bird keeping watch above him from the grape vines was this little Cape White Eye.

Cape White Eye 2

The tiles on the roof are actually a brick red (or they were at one time!) but appear yellow, because the lengthening rays of the early evening sun cast this gorgeous glow.

You can see this effect, as well as both birds, in the photo below.

Cape White Eye and Sunbird

Well, nothing earth-shattering. Just a moment captured in time and a glimpse into the wonderful nature here in my own back garden.

 

24 thoughts on “Study in Yellow

  1. long4h2o

    I’m astounded that the sunbird was content to feed while you took his picture. Our hummingbirds are quite nervous and flitter about so while they feed. Thanks for taking the time to post. While they may not be up to your standard, it’s good enough for us friends and family. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Aw Thank you for your kind words. 😀
      I think the Sunbirds are quite used to me now, as long as I sit quietly out of the way. They sometimes perch above me on the telephone wire, while I’m hanging out the washing, and they twitter at me to get lost! 😀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. scifihammy Post author

        Ah that is interesting. 🙂 Our robins also fly away, but the Olive Thrush claims his territory and tries to get me to leave! 😀

        Like

  2. bejamin4

    “Blending in the setting sun”! Beautiful phrasing! Always nice to see what you’ll come up with next. And thanks for sharing all these great pictures. You capture the romanticism of nature!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Aw Thank you so much 😀
      The yellow flowers that the Sunbird is feeding from are my honeysuckle. I was sitting underneath the Eugenia, looking out, so no leaves visible. It does get funny white fluffy flowers that turn into red berries, like grapes. I don’t think I’ve posted these very often. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Murphy's Law

    Terrific pictures! The Sunbirds iridescent colors are so beautiful and the cape White Eye sure knows how to camouflage itself. I love your tile rooftop.

    Sci, your little piece of the world amazes me with the variety of plants and the variety and abundance of wildlife that visit you. I think if I lived there I would get nothing done in the home. I would be outside admiring every blossom and every bird/critter constantly!

    What a happy note to start off Monday. Thank you for sharing these. Maybe not “earth-shattering”, but a real treat to see.

    Hope today starts off a wonderful week for you.

    Stay safe.
    🐾Ginger 🐾

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Aw Thank you so much! 😀 This is really kind, and made my day. 😀
      With Lockdown I have no choice but to be at home – but I am so lucky to have a garden to sit in! 🙂
      Have a lovely week too 😀

      Like

Comments are closed.