A Comedy of Errors

LM Collar 1

LM Collar 1

When Little Monkey and I get home after our walk, we have a little routine we always do. These routines keep her calmer and reinforce her training and positive behaviour.

So, I get her to sit by the garage doors before I take her lead off. This time I popped the poop bag in the bin before getting her to sit. Then I looked at my hand and saw I was still holding the poop bag . . . which meant I had dropped the keys in the bin instead!

So I left LM with her lead still on while I dug down in the wheelie bin and rescued the keys. Then, since I was half way there anyway, I went to check the mail box, leaving LM in a sit/stay, still with her lead on.

She’ll will normally stay like this while I do all sorts of things, even disappearing out of sight round the side of the house. When I whistle, then she’ll move.

Unfortunately, as I was getting the mail, a woman jogged past our house, Β with two little Jack Russells in tow.

Little Monkey immediately broke her stay and chased madly round the garden after them.

Fair enough; she can’t help herself.

So I yelled’ “Hey!” to LM and chatted to the woman as she jogged past.

Then I called LM back to me at the garage doors, because we’ll still do the routine, starting again at the beginning.

When LM came back and sat down nicely again, I noticed her lead was missing. On closer inspection I saw that she’d broken her red cloth collar!

LM Collar 2

LM Collar 2

I took the remains of her collar off, finished the stay and release, then looked for the lead in the garden.

I found it by the automatic gate. Unluckily, the handle of the lead had got hooked around the metal end of the gate runner – and stayed there, while LM and her collar carried on chasing the little dogs running past the property.

I was pretty miffed at the time, because this collar was specially handmade and I can no longer get them. (They work like a choker chain, but without any chain, by having part of the collar able to change size between the rings. Normally the collar will hang loosely, but can be given a quick tiny tug as a correction, as in – I have also seen the cat and you are not chasing it!)

Looking at the remains of the collar I could see that it had worn thin. LM is now wearing Mr Spaghetti Legs’ black collar.

LM Collar 3

LM Collar 3

Afterwards though, I thought it was just as well that LM broke her collar at home in the garden and not trying to chase a cat across a road and getting run over!

And all this happened in the first place because I threw my keys in the bin!

 

41 thoughts on “A Comedy of Errors

  1. earthstills

    Leads and collars can be replaced πŸ™‚ So glad all ended well, and perhaps, you need the routine as much as LM does?! I confess that I am equally helpless when I ‘spontaneously’ and ‘creatively’ break my routines πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚ Getting keys out of the wheelie bin is not an enviable task, but compared to scratching out poop from anywhere where the keys should have gone, not the worst mishap?! πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      hahaha That is what I thought too! πŸ™‚
      Luckily we’d topped up the bin with garden refuse, so it wasn’t too bad digging for my keys.
      And yes, we all need routines; it just makes life easier. πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. mistermuse

    A good example of MURPHY’S LAW (anything that can go wrong will go wrong) — you can even apply MURPHY’S LAW to LITTLE MONKEY by reversing the initials M. L.. to L. M. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Laura

    I’m glad it all worked out fine in the end but it’s funny how these type of things all seem to come at once, seems to be the saying “it comes in threes” is true more times than false!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. blosslyn

    Every thing happens for a reason, the collar could have broken somewhere nasty, but it didn’t, because you stopped it by throwing the keys in the bin πŸ™‚ Ha ha happens to me all the time πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Genie

    Dogs and collars, I’ve had quite a few adventures with them breaking, as well; seems they don’t make dog collers strong enough these days.
    Glad it all worked out well. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ Her collar must have been wearing thin for some time, (she’s worn it over 9 years) but I hadn’t noticed. We were just lucky! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. pensitivity101

    The other evening, we came back from our final walk, let Maggie into the boat, and retired as normal. Next day, we couldn’t find the car keys.
    On exiting the boat, we found the keys where her lead should have been, and yep, we’d hung her lead up inside on the key hook! I blame the weather as the cold has affected my brain!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha I think there is something else on our mind and we just do things by routine – only not always in the correct order! πŸ™‚ Glad you found the car keys – they are very costly to replace!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. maureenrose7

    aww I love that you get to now use Mr. Spagetti Leg’s collar and I’m so glad LM did not get hurt…Dogs, every day is an adventure with them right?! ❀

    Liked by 2 people

  8. Laura

    The collar looks like it should last a long time. It is frustrating how so many things these days don’t last very long.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Ah – actually the collar did last a long time, as Little Monkey has been wearing it for nine and a half years πŸ™‚ I can’t complain about the quality – just that I hadn’t seen it had worn. πŸ™‚
      But you are right in that most things these days do not last. πŸ™‚

      Like

  9. Garfield Hug

    Oh my…what an adventure! Glad the leash gave way in the garden as the thought of it breaking during car chase would have been a horrid outcome. So look at it as a blessing in disguise πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      hahaha Thanks Colin – but I call it stress, since I’ve been doing this kind of distracted behaviour when stressed, since I was 18. πŸ™‚
      – I can’t Possibly be getting old! πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.