Seasonal Allergies

Rose

 

A Hay Fever Sufferer’s Lament

Seasonal allergies?

All very well my dear

But what if your flowers

Bloom all *flipping year?

.

 

You would never think that our Winter Solstice is fast approaching on 21 June.

Right now in my garden:

Rose bushes are still producing new buds

Honeysuckles are gloriously adorned with flowers

Poinsettia is flaunting a brand new red crown

Camellia is poised to explode into one big pink extravaganza

.

It is no wonder that I have allergies all year round!

 

*flipping: I refer to the English meaning “for emphasis or to express mild annoyance” and not the American meaning “purchasing a revenue-generating asset and quickly reselling (or flipping) it for profit”!

I had no idea of the American meaning until I googled the word to double check it wasn’t swearing!

 

29 thoughts on “Seasonal Allergies

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you Tom. I do take that for other reasons, but nothing seems to help my allergies – except going to the UK where I don’t have Any. πŸ™‚

      Like

  1. blosslyn

    Oh I suffer too, I feel like I have a heavy cold most of the time, but it can come and go so quickly. But I love gardening, I just put up with it. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you πŸ™‚ This is the problem here – we are approaching winter but my garden is still in full bloom, so I pretty much have allergies all year round. But it’s OK as at least I have a colourful garden. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. C C Cedras

    And you could have a garden like mine that has a healthy stand of weeds to go along with the blooming roses, alliums, foxgloves, columbine, yada yada. At least the bees are happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. pensitivity101

    There is a line in an episode of NCIS where a guy is a ‘flipper’……….. ie. he stands on a corner with a sign and rotates and turns to advertise the burger establishment he’s working for!
    ‘Flipping’ covers a multitude of adjectives……… not all polite!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Garfield Hug

    Most of us here who I know of then to use “flipping” of “frigging” to substitute for a swear word. I remember my Econ GTF using “shoot” for “s__it” Thanks for the definitionπŸ‘πŸ˜€Sorry about your unending allergies due to pollen. But your garden has great bloomsπŸ˜ƒ

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.