Lilac Flowers

Flowers 1

Flowers 1

Continuing with my winter garden, these lilac blooms, which are in a pot on my stoep, are in flower for most of the year.

Lilac Flowers 2

Lilac Flowers 2

I must have become a little complacent about their presence though, because it looks like cobwebs in this flower. I see they need dusting!

 

post script: These flowers are called Mandevilla, which I didn’t know until MidWestern Plant Girl commented on a post last December. I don’t know what most of my plants are really called, unless it’s like ‘rose’ or such! I’m just happy that against all odds, (ie Me!), they somehow manage to survive in my garden!

 

34 thoughts on “Lilac Flowers

  1. Gobetween

    I have wondered for many years what the correct name is of these plants. I want to get one for our new garden and I am glad I finally know what to ask for at the nursery.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Genie

    Gee, I’de love to have a flower that blooms for most of the year, very rare for the Northern Hemisphere. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      haha Well I had to look up my old post to get the name – I just call them the Lilac Flowers! 🙂
      Funny how everything reminds you of food when you are hungry! I hope you get food soon. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Midwestern Plant Girl

    These are beautiful! We use these a lot for the summer containers. They bloom until our frost kills em. I’ve tried to over winter them, but not successfully.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. scifihammy Post author

      Thank you 🙂 As you know – it is mid-winter here, and they are still blooming away on my stoep! Tho it is very chilly today, we never get cold enough for frost, which explains why they keep on blooming. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.